Quick Answer: What Are The 4 Stages Of Conducting A Job Hazard Analysis?

Risk Management: Six Steps to Completing an Effective Job Safety Analysis

  • Step One: Select Which Job to Analyze.
  • Step Two: Job Task Breakdown.
  • Step Three: Identifying Hazards.
  • Step Four: Develop Preventative Measures.
  • Step Five: Document and Communicate Job Hazard Analysis Findings.
  • Step Six: Get Help (If Needed)

What is job hazard analysis?

A job hazard analysis (JHA), also called a job safety analysis (JSA), is a technique to identify the dangers of specific tasks in order to reduce the risk of injury to workers.

How do you perform a hazard analysis?

To perform an analysis, follow our workplace safety experts’ four-step job hazard analysis training information, outlined below.

  1. Step 1: Select Jobs to Analyze. Complete a job hazard analysis for each position.
  2. Step 2: Involve the Employee.
  3. Thoroughly Analyze Potential Job Hazards.
  4. Step 4: Make Changes.

What are the basic elements of a JSA?

In a JSA, each basic step of the job is to identify potential hazards and to recommend the safest way to do the job.

Acronym for the four elements that are present in every task of the work process:

  • Process,
  • Environment,
  • People,
  • EMT, which is itself an acronym for ‘equipment, materials and tools’.

What is the difference between risk assessment and job hazard analysis?

Risk assessments are often confused with a Job Safety Analysis (JSA) or Job Hazard Analysis (JHA). The key difference between a risk assessment and a JSA is scope. Whereas a JSA focuses on job-specific risks and are typically performed for a single task, assessing each step of the job.